my journey through the pursuit of love & happiness

life & death

Posted on: June 21, 2010

I have a little over a week left in China. Trying to get my visa issues settled and fretting about going back to reality and wondering how this transition will go (even though six weeks cannot compare to over two years, it brings back a lot of feelings) I was informed with the news that a friend, who I met and served with in Peace Corps, has passed away.

The bonds that are created with people you served with overseas in Peace Corps can never be fully explained or relayed to others. I can only say that upon meeting other RPCVs there is an immediate unspoken understanding between you; a secret that you two know and share and that you know the world will never understand.

I always try and tell the people in my life who mean a lot to me, also known as ‘my loves’ and ‘the loves of my life’ how I feel about them for no special reason. Time may change and grow your person, but the bonds of friendship will always remain and true friendship knows time cannot erode the strength, affection and bond between two people.

But losing a friend makes me realize that I am lucky to be living. I should be grateful that I have a reality in DC waiting for me. This isn’t about loving more, that I already try to do, no, this is about not being afraid; this is about being happy for even the crappiest of crappy days. Yes, this may be a cliché ode to live.

When you realize how fragile everything is. How we are all struggling, working, loving everyday … bound by loose strings of hope, love and strength of humankind…. you can’t help but feel humble that you are still standing among the living.

Here is to celebrating love and life everyday.

1 Response to "life & death"

it’s true – every day life is humbling and i know exactly what you mean about your relationships with other PCVs. the same thing is true for me with other people who were in the navy and served overseas…it’s just such an inexplicable experience that you can’t really capture it, pin it down and put it in words for someone else to suddenly understand.

Leave a Reply

"IF YOU CAN'T HANDLE ME AT MY WORST, THAN YOU DON'T DESERVE ME AT MY BEST" -marilyn monroe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

calender

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
