my journey through the pursuit of love & happiness

what i’ve learned from men

Posted on: August 4, 2010

1. make time to read

Between school, working, extra-curricular activities and working out I don’t have a lot of free time. I miss reading for pleasure and I feel guilty when I do because there is always more school assignments to be read. But taking time out for the little things that bring me pleasure is important. So instead of watching hulu before bed I am going to make a conscious effort to read at least 15 minutes a night during the school year.

2. lessons of forgiveness

When I first heard that some of my guy friends are much more likely to forgive a girl early for her flandering mistakes than later on the relationship I didn’t think too much of it. I felt that I would be more likely to forgive a guy for cheating if it was later on in the relationship where I had an emotional investment and committment. It took me a while to realize that my guy friends were using the same argument, only arguing that because of the emotional investment the betrayal is much worse. From their point of view, early on there is no/little committment or emotions greatly invested so they are much more likely to forgive a girl. Where women, I believe, and myself look at an early on mistake as what’s more to come. The basis for how he will act/react throughout our whole relationship. I look at early on mistakes as, if he’s doing that now while things seem pretty good, what will he do later when things get tough?

I find this very interesting.

Then I realized my rationalizing of being more likely to forgive a man if I was already emotionally invested. This is a sunk cost! As time goes on, it makes sense that there should be a an exponential decrease of chancing that he will do something crappy to you.

3. guys read into little things and over react, too

Self explanatory.

4. guys do have feelings.

They just don’t like showing them. What are women mind readers? This is why ladies read into things and hold onto what seems like little signs of interest, etc. If guys showed their emotions than I guarantee that less women would be ‘crazy.’

5. less is more

Guys want a lady in the street.  Yes, men are visual people. We all react to visual stimulants. But really, any guy worth having wants a woman who isn’t afraid to leave a little to the imagination.

Leave a Reply

"IF YOU CAN'T HANDLE ME AT MY WORST, THAN YOU DON'T DESERVE ME AT MY BEST" -marilyn monroe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

calender

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
