my journey through the pursuit of love & happiness

getting what you want. now what?

Posted on: October 13, 2010

I used to be so much more accustomed to getting what I want. Yes, I might be spoiled by the universe. But like many amazing women in my life, I. Am. A. Fighter. Us strong, intelligent, motivated women are not used to hearing no. We fight to get what we want. And we usually do.

Then I moved to the east coast where I’m pretty sure I have negative physical reactions to this place. Seriously, my skin has never been so bad. I swear to God my body is literally rejecting the East Coast. I’m actually contemplating a few tanning sessions this year to try and trick my body.

Not to say that I don’t think Washington, DC isn’t a great city— it is. So is NYC. Love. It. At the end of the day they are not California. And although I’ve met new loves, my heart will always be in California. I can’t help it. I’m a Cali girl through-and-through. If you’ve ever spent any decent time in Socal you would know exactly what I’m talking about.

When I first arrived to DC, after living in Africa for over two years and never once visiting home, I noticed a clear difference with the people, especially with the men. I know some of my loves back home probably thought it was just me adjusting and how could people/men be that different? It’s still America! Well, now some of my California ex-pats living in DC agree with me.

But this isn’t a post on why West Coast men are better. (As has been proven to me at least four times over…..) No, this is a post about taking the time to look in the mirror and say, “I choose this. I wanted this.”  Or maybe more appropriate, “I chose this. I still want this.”

Yes, we are allowed to change our mind after we get what we want, and yes, we are allowed to freak out once we get it.

It is so simple. But remembering when you wanted something so bad, that you choose this path for yourself is sometimes necessary to get through the day.

 

2 Responses to "getting what you want. now what?"

… the fun part is when you feel like the fact you wanted it in the first place is just a kick in the nuts =)

i understand perfectly.

Leave a Reply

"IF YOU CAN'T HANDLE ME AT MY WORST, THAN YOU DON'T DESERVE ME AT MY BEST" -marilyn monroe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

calender

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
