my journey through the pursuit of love & happiness

dear canada, user-based internet fees?

Posted on: February 5, 2011

Will user-based internet and overcharge fees really affect consumer behavior?

This week Canada reconsidered usage-based billing for internet users.

I had two reactions:

1. America, please don’t do this.

2. Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission chairman Konrad von Finckenstein has a point.

“We are convinced that Internet services are no different than other public utilities, and the vast majority of Internet users should not be asked to subsidize a small minority of heavy users,” the CRTC chair argued.

“For us, it is a question of fundamental fairness. Let me restate: ordinary users should not be forced to subsidize heavy users,” von Finckenstein said in a statement.

Now, the economist in me agrees with the statement and I don’t think I should have to pay for heavy internet users to have their services subsidized. My only question is: what kind of internet user am I?

I’m interested to see how this plays out and if this new policy actually affects user behavior. Stay tuned!

1 Response to "dear canada, user-based internet fees?"

It’s a reasonable idea, I just don’t like it myself because I would be in the group of people who started getting charged more @_@. My household is pretty internet heavy but I already pay quite a bit more (About 3 times more) for a very good service to handle the extra usage than say my best friend who has a more standard connection.
Luckily I’m not in Canada ^^ but it’s still being tossed around down here in the States as far as I know. =S

Leave a Reply

"IF YOU CAN'T HANDLE ME AT MY WORST, THAN YOU DON'T DESERVE ME AT MY BEST" -marilyn monroe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

calender

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  
