my journey through the pursuit of love & happiness

Peta, you kinda suck

Posted on: February 8, 2011

Am I thinking sex or broccoli?

Am I thinking sex or broccoli?

First, let me preface this by saying I LOVE animals. If I saw one being mistreated I would walk up and punch someone in the face for doing so. That being said, I also don’t like dumb people.

I am really getting tired of PETA’s low-brow sex tactics at convincing people to go vegetarian. What’s next? Miller lite ads with butt-ass naked women with big hair saying ‘I’d rather go lite’? (I should’ve gone into advertising).

First of all I know a lot of vegetarians and they are not stick thin. They are normal people, like the rest of us meat-eating population. Second, I also know people who went vegetarian and didn’t do it the healthy way and suffered because they weren’t getting all the nutrients and vitamins their body needs.

What bothers me about Peta’s ads:

1. Peta’s sex tactics really only appeal to straight men. Do you think looking at a picture of a woman with a cucumber in her mouth suggestively is really going to get me to eat veggies? Really you are just giving the teenage neighborhood boy masturbation material.

2. Guess who does the shopping in most families? Did you say women?  You only have to  look  to your household to see who makes the grocery shopping/health decisions. So why aren’t you targeting women?

3. It’s a stupid argument. Do they think they are really convincing people that if they eat more veggies (and no meat) they are going to have more (and better) sex and be better looking? Seriously?!

Is there nothing to their benefit that they have to go soooo shallow?! Do they really think their message isn’t getting lost in sex?

In the end, I can complain all I want but the econometrician in me decided to do a little bit more research and try to put some weight to my and Peta’s claims. Here’s what I found online.

Why vegetarians aren’t having better sex, but thank you PETA for manipulating data to your benefit. I am really starting to respect you as an organization.

After having their Superbowl ad banned Peta released a statement in response to NBC. In this statement Peta said that meat makes people “fat, sick and boring in bed.” That sounds scientific to me! Their sample of people was limited to people who ate low-fat, low-cholesterol diets. Further, vegetarians who are slimmer tend to be slimmer because they are more health-conscious overall. In other words, not eating meat isn’t a causal factor to being slim.

Being over weight has it’s consequences, yes. It is related to diabetes, heart disease and decreased sex libido, sure. But not everyone who eats meat is overweight. And certainly, eating meat is not a casual factor for being fat. In fact, eat fat is a casual relationship with being fat. Who knew?

But wait… this just in. A recent study shows that weight loss does not positively affect a woman’s sex life. In fact, researches “showed that overweight women were more likely to report having sexual intercourse with a man, even when she controlled for age, race and type of residence.” (I’m not sure what they mean by type of residence, but I like this demographic control. Note: This study talked about weight, not vegetarian diet). Wha? Admittingly, the researches said these results were unexpected. The researches went on to say that “the important part to take away from the study is that physicians and others who work in women’s medical health should never make assumptions about sexual behavior based on outward appearances.”

Vitamin deficiencies can plague vegetarians. In fact, “vegetarian women are also more likely to develop amenorrhea (loss of periods), a condition that’s usually accompanied by low testosterone, vaginal dryness, and poor libido.”

Further, “data suggest that the health of Western vegetarians is good and similar to that of comparable non-vegetarians.”

So what’s with all the sex?

My only conclusion is that there is actually little benefits from being a vegetarian — or else they would be using these great arguments instead of distracting people with sex. I mean they put more sex in their ads than Budweiser!

I guess presenting meat-eating as a moral delimna is no longer in fashion. Or maybe Peta is underestimating the population. Why not have ads of vegetarians describing their vegetarian experiences? Like when they switched, how it’s been hard and benefits they personally feel they can attribute to the switch?

Peta, I cannot take you seriously when you are only creating masturbation material for the neighborhood teen (and prolly married men) and not once ever attempting to create an ad that encourages me to question my meat-eating choices.

Found this after I wrote my post. Sums it up pretty nicely.

Found this after I wrote my post. Sums it up pretty nicely.

 

1 Response to "Peta, you kinda suck"

Nice post, I dislike PETA for other reasons which is why I read it through but I definitely agree with you regarding their silly ads. I’ve been a vegetarian for a little over 10 years myself and I’ve had some minor health problems directly related to it, my boyfriend of 2 years on the other hand has a normal diet. Never once have I blinked an eye that he eats meat, I consider it healthier in fact, especially since he works in an industry with a lot of physical demands. We both have average body weight for our height, an active sex life, basically there really isn’t any difference between us because of our diets.
It’s a personal choice, and things like these pointless ads create a stigma for those vegetarians who don’t really care what other people do. Pretty much everyone I know has gone through some period of apologizing that they eat meat around me because they assume I’m some crazy anti-meat activist, it’s rather bizarre.
Anyway, that’s a bit of my perspective on this.

Leave a Reply

"IF YOU CAN'T HANDLE ME AT MY WORST, THAN YOU DON'T DESERVE ME AT MY BEST" -marilyn monroe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

calender

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  
